NRM to Dismiss ‘Rebel’ MPs


At least five outspoken MPs from the ruling NRM risk being expelled from the party for criticising its chairman, President Museveni, and going against its positions in Parliament.

Those targeted include Mr. Theodore Ssekikubo (Lwemiyaga), who was arrested by police on Monday night, in Kampala, over the critical comments he made on the death of Cerinah Nebanda.

Others are Kampala Central MP Muhammad Nsereko, Mr. Barnabas Tinkasiimire (Buyaga West), Mr. Vincent Kyamadidi (Rwampara), and Mr. Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East).

According to a November 30, 2012, letter from Government Chief Whip Justine Kasule Lumumba to the NRM Secretary-General, Mr. Amama Mbabazi, 256news has learnt that the five MPs have been accused of breaching the NRM code of conduct and will therefore appear before the Party’s Disciplinary Committee.

In response, Mr. Niwagaba said: “The complaints against us are misconceived, and invalid, both in law and fact. I have received the letter from the chief whip and I have treated it with the utmost contempt it deserves and put it in the dustbin of Parliament.”

The call is the latest showdown between the Executive and the Legislature. The NRM can dismiss the MPs but it has no powers to recall them from the House.

In the letter, Ms. Lumumba outlined the particulars of alleged breaches and begged the Prime Minister to forward the complaints to the disciplinary committee for more investigation and action.

Mr. Nsereko is accused of taking part in several radio talk shows where he reportedly denounced President Museveni and vowed to fight his re-election in 2016.

Mr. Ssekikubo, Mr. Niwagaba, Mr. Kyamadidi and Mr. Tinkasiimire are the members of the parliamentary Forum on Oil and Gas.

The group is accused of being used to further the interests of foreign powers to oppose the government position on oil.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here