Museveni Appoints Justice Byabakama as New EC Chairman


Justice Simon Byabakama replaces Kiggundu as EC chairperson

Justice Byabakama is to be deputized by Hajjati Aisha Lubega, with Peter Emorut, Stephen Tashobya, Prof George Piwang and Mustapha Ssebagala as members of the Commission

President Museveni has appointed a new Electoral Commission ending speculation on who would replace the Dr Badru Kiggundu led one, whose term ended on Thursday.

In a letter to Speaker of Parliament Rebbecca Kadaga, President Museveni has appointed Court of Appeal Judge Simon Mugenyi Byabakama to replace Mr Kiggundu who spent 14 years as EC chair.

The other appointees who now wait vetting by the appointments committee of parliament before assuming office include Hajjat Aisha Lubega (vice chairperson) and commissioners Peter Emorut, Steven Tashobya, Prof George Piwang and Mustapha Ssebaggala Kigozi. The new appointees will join Ms Justin A. Mugabi whose tenure at EC is yet to expire.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here