Upsets and Surprises in Parliamentary Election Results


Turning the attention from the presidential election results, many big heads have rolled in the parliamentary elections for both the ruling NRM and the opposition parties.

The biggest names so far in the NRM is the minister and state minister the ICT ministry. Minister Aggrey Awori has lost as well as his state minister, Alintuma Nsambu. Minister of State for Foreign Affairs Isaac Musumba has also lost. Minister for Gender Gabriel Opio, whose ministry brought about the controversial Cultural Leaders’ Bill, has lost as well as Minister for Internal Affairs Kirunda Kivejinja. The Minister for the Presidency Dorothy Hyuha has lost to the young and vibrant Serena Nebanda.

Minister of Education Namirembe Bitamazire has lost as well as Minister Beatrice Wabudeya.

On the side of the opposition, the leader of the opposition in parliament Prof. Ogenga Latigo has lost. Susan Nampijja who stood in Makindye West leaving room for her father Ken Lukyamuzi to stand in Rubaga South, has lost. However, Lukyamuzi has triumphed in Rubaga South.

The biggest surprise in Kampala has come from Rubaga North where the little-known Moses Kasibante has trounced the NRM flag-bearer Katongole Singh. Most commentators were of the view that this constituency was a done deal for Katongole, but it has turned out otherwise.

On the other hand, Amelia Kyambadde has won in Mawokota North defeating her fellow NRM stalwart Clavier Mutuluuza. This was a hotly contested constituency whereby some sections of State House were supporting Mutuluuza who stood as an independent after losing the NRM primaries to Kyambadde, the former Principal Presidential Secretary to President Museveni.

FDC spokesman Wafula Oguttu and FDC Finance Secretary Jack Sabiiti have both made it to parliament. The former Mengo ministers Matthias Mpuuga and Medard Ssegona have also won in their respective constituencies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here