Incumbent President Museveni Wins in Landslide

Yoweri Kaguta Museveni

The Electoral Commission has just announced that incumbent President Yoweri Museveni the winner of Uganda’s 2011 presidential ballot with 68.38 percent. Museveni finished the final tally with 5,428,369 votes, Electoral Commission chairman, Eng. Badru Kiggundu said in a press conference.

Inter-Party Cooperation flagbearer, Dr Kizza Besigye, finished the race with 2,064,963 or 26 percent of the vote. Democratic Party’s Norbert Mao was in third position having pulled in just 147, 708 votes.

Other results include Olara Otunnu of the Uganda People’s Congress, UPC with 125,059 votes, Betty Olive Kamya of the Uganda Federal Alliance with 52,782 votes, Abed Bwankia of the People’s Development Party with 51,708 votes, Jaberi Bidandi Ssali of the People’s Progressive Party with 34,688 votes and independent Samuel Walter Lubega with 32,726 votes.

The results mean another five year term for Museveni, bringing his time of rule to a potential 30 years. Heavy military and police deployment remains in the city in order to prevent any protests. It is unclear if the army or police will move to break up any celebrations.

The leading opposition candidate Dr. Kizza Besigye has said that they do not accept the results and has alleged massive rigging in the election. In a press conference today Besigye declined to answer whether or not he will call on his supporters to protest the final results.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here