Uganda is Debt Sustainable – Says Finance Ministry


Four Uganda’s representatives to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) have picked nomination forms to vie for the post of speaker for the assembly.

The members are Mike Kennedy Sebalu (NRM), Chris Okumu Opoka (UPC), Daniel Kidega (NRM) and Suzan Nakawuki (Independent).

The position fell vacant on Wednesday after the House impeached Uganda’s representative Margaret Zziwa as Speaker EALA over alleged impunity and incompetence.

The nomination exercise is expected to end tomorrow at 1:00pm according to EALA deputy clerk Obatre Lumumba.
“So far three members have returned their forms, it is only Honorable Nakawuki who is yet to return her form,” said Lumumba.

Yesterday, Ugandan MPs were locked up a long day meeting trying to agree on the candidate by press time the meeting was still going on. Sources attending a closed door meeting for EALA members Uganda chapter disclosed that the members were planning to front Mike Kennedy Ssebalu as the next speaker for EALA.

Uganda was on Wednesday given 48 hours to replace Zziwa so as to fill the vacant position of EALA speaker. Uganda, whose representative Margaret Zziwa was impeached as the Speaker EALA, is holding the position until 2017. The New Speaker from Uganda will lead the House for the next two and half years.

Meanwhile, Speaking to New Vision yesterday, Prime Minister Ruhakana Rugunda said government was still studying the situation regarding Zziwa’s impeachment adding that government had not yet taken a position on the matter.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here