BET Announces Nominations: Diamond Platnumz is Only East African Nominee


A few days ago, BET announced the “BET AWARDS” 2021 nominees with Megan Thee Stallion and DaBaby leading the pack with seven nominations respectively.

This year’s nominees reflect an abundance of creative expression and Black excellence across music, television, film, and sports.

The event will be aired live on June 27th, 2021, and only vaccinated individuals to be part of the live audience.

Tanzanian musician Diamond Platinum was the only musician from East Africa nominated for the Best International act and will be contesting with other African stars like wizkid and Burna Boy.

The Black Entertainment Television network annually recognizes artists, entertainers, and athletes across multiple categories.

The complete list of nominees for The “BET AWARDS” 2021 are:

Album of the year

After Hours– The Weeknd

Blame It On Baby– DaBaby

Good News– Megan Thee Stallion

Heaux Tales– Jazmine Sullivan

King’s Disease– Nas

Ungodly Hour– Chloe X Halle

Best Collaboration

Cardi B f/ Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”

DaBaby f/ Roddy Ricch – “Rockstar”

DJ Khaled f/ Drake – “Popstar”

Jack Harlow f/ DaBaby, Tory Lanez & Lil Wayne – “What’s Poppin” (Remix)

Megan Thee Stallion f/ DaBaby – “Cry Baby”

Pop Smoke f/ Lil Baby & DaBaby – “For the Night”

Best Female R&B / Pop Artist



Jazmine Sullivan

Jhené Aiko

Summer Walker


Best Male R&B / Pop Artist


Anderson .Paak

Chris Brown



The Weeknd

Best New Artist

Coi Leray

Flo Milli


Jack Harlow


Pooh Shiesty

Best Group

21 Savage & Metro Boomin

Chloe X Halle

Chris Brown & Young Thug

City Girls


Silk Sonic

Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Cardi B

Coi Leray

Doja Cat

Megan Thee Stallion



Best Male Hip Hop Artist



J. Cole

Jack Harlow

Lil Baby

Pop Smoke

BET Her Award

Alicia Keys f/ Khalid – “So Done”

Brandy f/ Chance The Rapper – “Baby Mama”

Bri Steves – “Anti Queen”

Chloe X Halle – “Baby Girl”

Ciara f/ Ester Dean – “Rooted”

SZA – “Good Days”

Best International Act

Aya Nakamura (France)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Emicida (Brazil)

Headie One (Uk)

Wizkid (Nigeria)

Young T & Bugsey (Uk)

Youssoupha (France)

Viewer’s Choice Award

Cardi B f/ Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”

Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”

DaBaby f/ Roddy Ricch – “Rockstar”

DJ Khaled f/ Drake – “Popstar”

Drake f/ Lil Durk – “Laugh Now Cry Later”

Lil Baby – “The Bigger Picture”

Megan Thee Stallion f/ Beyoncé – “Savage” (Remix)

Silk Sonic – “Leave the Door Open”

Video of the Year

Cardi B – “Up”

Cardi B f/ Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”

Chloe X Halle – “Do It”

Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”

Drake f/ Lil Durk – “Laugh Now Cry Later”

Silk Sonic – “Leave the Door Open”

Video Director of the Year

Benny Boom

Bruno Mars And Florent Déchard

Cole Bennett

Colin Tilley

Dave Meyers

Hype Williams


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here