45 MTN Innovation Awards 2017 Nominees Announced

  • Exhibition for the 45 nominees to take place today Saturday, October 28th 2017 at Shoprite Lugogo Mall parking area
  • They will appear before a judge’s panel too.
  • Awards gala to take place on 8th November 2017
  • Each category winner to walk away with $3,000

MTN Uganda has shortlisted 45 nominees for the next phase of the MTN Innovation Awards 2017. The 45 nominees were selected from an overwhelming number of entries, more than the entries received in the inaugural MTN Innovation Awards in 2015.

There were at least seven (9) categories to pick from. The choice of categories like Finance, Agriculture and Health laid emphasis on MTN Uganda’s commitment to scale sectors critical to the improvement of lives and communities through digital innovations. The awards are in line with MTN Uganda’s mission to make the lives of Ugandans brighter.

“We received more entries than we had anticipated, indicating that the country has got quite a number of technology innovations that have the potential to improve the well-being of people in society. We would like to congratulate the 45 entries that have made it to the next round,” explained Mr. Olivier Prentout, the Chief Marketing Officer, MTN Uganda.

For a submission to be eligible for shortlisting, the Application should have been operational at least since 2014. This was done for MTN to measure impact to the society.

The shortlisted entries (www.mtn.co.ug/innovationawards) will now move to the next stage, an exhibition to the panel of judges on Saturday, October 28 2017 at Shoprite Lugogo Mall parking area. This exhibition is also open to the public to view the shortlisted entries and see the impact they are creating in society.

MTN Uganda believes that all hard-work needs to be rewarded. When innovators put in many hours, days, months, years to develop applications and it has an impact on society, they deserve to be recognized.

Five entries have been shortlisted from each category. The judges will make a decision on the each category winner that will be announced at an awards gala on November 8th, 2017 at the Kampala Serena Hotel. Each category winner will be rewarded with $3,000.

Best Health Application

  • Mstock Solution (Mbarara University of Science and Technology)
  • Petograph (Global Preeclampsia Initiative)
  • PRISMS (Mbarara University / CAMTech Uganda)
  • MobiCare App (MobiCare Uganda)
  • M-feyti (Feyti limited)

Best Education Application

  • SomaAfrica (SomaAfrica Technologies SMC Limited)
  • MyChild (SchoolMaster Solutions)
  • Kampala Smart School (Kampala Smart School)
  • Noga Game App (Tamithi Ltd)
  • Rays of Hope (K-Town Media)

Best Financial Services Application

  • MamboPay (MamboPay Limited)
  • Roundbob (Roundbob.com)
  • Mazima Retirement Plan (Mazima Voluntary Indvidual Retirement Benefits Scheme)
  • Cashbag (Sonet international Ltd)
  • Xente (Intelworld)

Best SME Application

  • Roundbob (Roundbob.com)
  • Qwicart (Qwicart Uganda Ltd)
  • KUFUNA Microfinance and SACCO Management Application (SIMTON Solutions)
  • Soko Ug (Abercom(U) technologies Ltd)
  • OneFortune (First Fortune Company Limited)

Best Agriculture Application

  • M-Voucher System (!nnovate More (U) Ltd)
  • M-Omulimisa (M-Omulimisa)
  • Agro Tracker (Agro Dynamics Limited)
  • Jaguza Livestock App (Afrosoft IT Solutions)
  • net (Mukwa Frame (U) Ltd)

Best Media & Entertainment Application

  • MunoWatch (MunoClub Co. Ltd)
  • PulseNews (Underscore Limited)
  • AppAbout (AppAbout Ltd)
  • Bujisports Uganda (Bujisoft Uganda)
  • Noga Game App (Tamithi Ltd)

Most Innovative Mobile App

  • Qwicart (Qwicart (U) Ltd)
  • 2ambale (2ambale)
  • myChild (SchoolMaster Solutions)
  • TechSoln (Powell’s Code Labs)
  • Traffica (GreatMinds)

Outstanding Woman in Innovation

  • Ruth Nabembezi (Ask Without Shame)
  • Evelyn Namara (Innovate More Uganda)
  • Alwenyi Catherine Cassidy (Fund Africa Inc.)
  • Ann Mary Kusiima Otedor (Network of Women in Agribusiness and Development)

Innovation Achiever of the Year

  • Outbox (Richard Zulu)
  • The Innovation Village (CK Japheth Kawanguzi)
  • com (David Gonahasa)
  • Water For People (Osbert Atwijukye)
  • Trautbuck Project Uganda (Paul Vicent Kamba)
  • Home-made Helicopter (Thomas Sankara Bashaija)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here