VOLLEYBALL: Nemo Stars Crowned 2017 Aziz Damani National League Champions

Wednesday, December 6th

Ladies’ Finals

Nkumba VC 3-1 VVC

Men’s Finals

Sport-S 0-3 Nemo Stars

Nemo Stars are now the Men’s reigning Uganda Volleyball Champions.

The Nsambya-based side defeated Sport-S 3-0 in the decider played out at Lugogo – hence winning the series 2-1, clinching the Aziz Damani National Volleyball League crown.

Going into yesterday’s thriller, the sides had tied one all: Nemo Stars had won game one 3-1 before Sport-S levelled the series with a 2-3 victory.

The first set was neck to neck but Nemo Stars edged it 32-30 and they never looked back, winning 25-13 and 25-20 in order of the sets.

This is Nemo Stars’ fourth title after the side had triumphed in 2012, 2013 and 2015.

“It was a tough game but we deeply in our hearts knew that we were a stronger side than them, am happy for the victory,� said Nemo Star’s Captain George Aporu briefly after the game.

Nkumba VC edge VVC to win the Ladies Crown

Just like the Men’s finals, the ladies finals was also tied one all before heading into the decider (game three).

Game three saw Nkumba Volleyball Club defeat Vision Volleyball Camp (VVC) in a thriller played at the MTN Arena in Lugogo.

“We were the under dogs going into the finals so we knew that we had to work hard and am proud that our efforts paid off,� said Tony Lakony, Nkumba VC coach after the game.

Past League winners in the Ladies category

2002: KAVC

2003: KCCA

2004: KAVC

2005: KCCA

2006: KCCA

2007: Nkumba

2008: KAVC

2009: Nkumba

2010: Nkumba

2011: Nkumba

2012: Ndejje

2013: Ndejje

2014: VVC

2015: Ndejje

2016: Ndejje

2017: Nkumba

Follow us on twitter @theugandatoday

Also, Like us on facebook

read more here: ChimpReports. This post is syndicated.


%d bloggers like this: