Rugumayo Wins 2017 Uganda Amateur Golf Open

Not so many people imagined Ronald Rugumayo would emerge winner at this year’s Tusker Malt Lager Uganda Amateur Golf Open.

However, Rugumayo defied all odds to clinch the fiercely competitive 75th edition of the Amateur category that climaxed on Saturday.
The Tooro golf club player edged past defending cbampion Ronald Otile in a breath taking playoff after a tie in number of strokee on Saturday at the Uganda Golf course, Kitante.
Rugumayo and Otile returned a total score of 299 strokes over the four days and a sudden death playoff had to played to determine winner.
It is here that Rugumayo had his name encrypted in the Uganda open history scoring birdes at hole 12,17 and 18.
Otile on the other hand had also scored birdies at hole 12 and 17 but faltered at 18 to lose the championship.
Like the saying goes, ” A bad beginning makes a good ending,” Rugumayo shed off a sloppy start where he returned a gross of 80 strokes to finish four below day one leader and improved on day two and three.
On day three, he pht up a masterclass to go joint top with a 69 score( the best return at the tournament) and didn’t look back until he triumphed.
Paul Muchangi finished third with 300 strokes.
Upon winning the open, Tusker Malt Lager, the leading sponsor of the event offered to fully sponsor Rugumayo for the Nyali open championship.
Overall winner: Ronald Rugumayo – 299
(Gross) – Won on sudden death after birdies
on 12, 17 and 18
Runners up : Ronald Otile – 299 (Gross)
3 : Paul Muchangi – 300 (Gross)
Gross Winners – 36 Holes
Days 1 & 2: Richard Baguma – 147 Gross
Days 3 &4 : Samuel Njoroge – 145 Gross
Gross 18 Holes Winners:
Day 1: Ashvin Kananathan – 74 Gross
Day 2: Tiyale Gethaneth Bogale – 73 Gross
Day 3: Andrew Byaruhanga – 73 Gross
Day 4: Ismail Muhamood – 71 Gross
Nett Catergory:
Winner: Angel Tumwesigye – 293
Runners up : Godfrey Nsubuga – 295
3 : Andrew Chelogoi – 297
Seniors Catergory:
Winner: Onyango G.M – 339 Gross
Piga Mingi Winner : John Kato – 381 Gross
Longest Drive :
Joseph Cwinyaai
Subsidiary Catergory:
Group A:
Winner: Pierre Ascedu – 68 Points
Runners up : Joseph Ngobi – 67 Points
3 : David Scanlon – 66 Points
Group B:
Winner : Michael Monne – 70 Points
Runners up : Charles Kagombe – 66 Points
(Count Back)
3 : Joseph Akena – 66 Points
Seniors Catergory:
Winner: Smith Bill – 64 Points
Runners up : Charles Katarikawe – 62 Points

Follow us on twitter @theugandatoday

Also, Like us on facebook

read more here: ChimpReports. This post is syndicated.


%d bloggers like this: