Lacrosse team travels to the FIL World Championships in Israel

Lacrosse team travels to the FIL World Championships in Israel

FIL World Lacrosse Championships
2018 July 12-21
Netanya, Israel
Uganda’s group fixtures
Uganda v Poland-12 July
Uganda v Luxemburg-13 July
Uganda v Hong Kong-14 July

With nearly half of the Lacrosse Cranes squad strangers at the world stage, Uganda’s competitive advantage is in their striking athleticism.

The sole representative at the FIL World Lacrosse Championships in Israel, Uganda has already acquired international acclaim even before the tournament starts.

A second appearance at this stage comes with lots of expectation following a one year strategic plan where Coach Peter Ginnegar from Israel spearheaded a renaissance of the game in the country.

“I take pride in this project that has seen a sharp change in the players who are now knowledgeable of the game and certainly we are going to make some waves in Netanya” Ginnegar remarked.

The national team was flagged off Monday at the Lugogo Indoor Stadium courtesy of NCS and officials from Uganda Lacrosse Foundation, an NGO based in the United States. 

It is important to note that thirteen players on the team are making their first appearance in spite of this being Uganda’s second outing in this particular meet.

Uganda is pitted in a group with Poland, Luxemburg and Hongkong at the event that will attract a total of 46 teams as Canada looks to defend the championship.

“We are taking one game at the time. We should secure two wins at least to progress past the grioup stage” skipper Michael Bahizi revealed.

In 2014, the Lacrosse Cranes finished a distant 34 out of 38 countries in the United States and on their second attempt there is a strong belief for better fortunes.


Allan Amone (G)

Jeff Anywar (M)

Michael Bahizi (D)

Bernard Otim (D)

David Castro Onen (A/M)

Kenneth Ssazi (M)

Kenneth Kasule (M)

Trey Kawugule (M)

Martin Komakech (M)

Keith  Lubangkane (M)

Faizo Nsubuga (A)

Samson Ochan (A)

James Okello (G)

John Paul  Okura (D)

Patrick Oriana (M)

James Okello (G)

Reagan Ochan (M)

Ronald Otim (D)

Joswa Ssetimba (M)

Pitta Shaban   (D)    

Yunis Brian Tukire (M/D)

Liberty Twesiime (A/M)

Dalton Wadri (M)
Keny  Dean

Follow us on twitter @theugandatoday

Also, Like us on facebook

read more here: The most recent articles . This post is syndicated.

The most recent articles

%d bloggers like this: